be awake! site of seeker for seekers

rijksmuseum /amsterdam/

Today I discovered one place in Amsterdam.

Rijskmuseum. It’s located in the beautiful building, designed by Petrus Cuypers. Not only the size of the building is impressive, it’s also eclecticism of gothic and renaissance styles.

The entrance cost me over 12 and I’m not sure if this price is moral. Of course, we can’t compare the greatest examples of fine arts to monetary value. Seeing paintings made by Rembrandt, Vermeer or Hals is priceless. Everybody should see these works. You can’t be in Amsterdam and not visit that place! Unfortunately, there is one “but”. I don’t understand why it’s not allowed to take photos (even without using a flash) inside? Even La Luvre’s management knows, that art is a global good.

Thanks to Rijksmuseum, I appreciate the way Muzeum Sztuki in Lodz works: take as much photos, as you can and visit us for free every Thursday!  It’s great example of fair cooperation between museum and visitors.

Luckily, I was able to take a few shots inside the Rijksmuseum, before I got caught with the camera in my hand. Please don’t misunderstand me — I’m not the type of person, who “admires” places through the camera’s eye. I truly believe, that among I-Have-To-Take-A-Picture-Of-Every-Well-Known-Monument type od tourist, there are some conscious people who know, what the camera is for.

I think, that Rijksmuseum chose wisely the paintings which promote the museum. The two are making an amazing impression: Rembrandt’s “The Night Watch” and Vermeer’s “The Milkmaid”. Rembrant’s because of it’s size, artist’s perfection and my knowledge about it. It was great experience to see “The Night Watch” live and find all its details. Also the controversial ones.

Vermeer’s painting hypnotized me. I would be able to keep staring at it for hours. Its stillness and truthfulness made me like the milkmaid. I started to think, who was she, what was she thinking about, did she like her daily life? There were many people after me, who also wanted to stare at her, so I couldn’t stay too long in front of the painting.

Summing up, if you have the opportunity to visit Rijksmuseum, do it! Even just to see its two main paintings.

2 responses

  1. I find the Milkmaid intriguing as well. Would we ever be able to understand her even if we stared all day?

    November 2, 2011 at 4:04 pm

  2. wow must go once there again 🙂 thanks!

    November 15, 2011 at 12:17 pm

Leave a Reply

